Linda Buckley is a composer from the Old Head of Kinsale, currently based in Dublin.

Linda Buckley – photo by Shane Scollard

Her music has been described as “strange and beautiful” (Boston Globe, July 2004), a “fascinating interaction between live sound and electronics” (Irish Times, Nov 2006), with “an exciting body of work that marks her out as a leading figure in the younger generation of Irish composers working in the medium” (Journal of Music, Sept 2008).

Her work has been performed by the BBC Symphony Orchestra, Dresden Sinfoniker Orchestra, Crash Ensemble, Fidelio Trio, Orkest de Ereprijs, Janus Trio, Rothko Trio, University of York Javanese Gamelan, and featured at international festivals including the Bang on a Can Summer Institute of Music at MassMoCA, Gaudeamus Music Week Amsterdam and Seoul International Computer Music Festival.

Linda is a member of the Spatial Music Collective, dedicated to the creation and presentation of spatial acoustic and electroacoustic music.

She studied Music at University College Cork, and Music and Media Technologies at Trinity College Dublin. She holds a Ph.D in Composition from Trinity College, where she also lectures.

Past events

April 2014
Michelle O’ Rourke performs Q, Cork School of Music

Mezzo soprano Michelle O’ Rourke sings Q for voice and electronics, as part of the Irish Canon concert series (Association of Irish Composers with Cork Orchestral Society).

April 2014
Composer-in-Residence at Visby International Centre for Composers

Residency at VICC – Gotland, Sweden

April 2014
DIT Irish Traditional Music Ensemble with DIT Symphony Orchestra

Performance of Cosán de Solas Gealaí Buí (A Path of Yellow Moonlight) for Irish traditional ensemble, chamber orchestra and electronics, DIT Irish Traditional Music Ensemble with DIT Symphony Orchestra  National Concert Hall Dublin

February 2014
Living In A Coded Land

Music featured in Pat Collins’ new film Living In A Coded Land, being shown at the Lighthouse cinema in February for the Jameson Dublin International Film Festival

February 2014
Jump for cello & electronics performed by Kate Ellis

Jump, Association of Irish Composers concert series

January 2014
The Wake film score

There is currently a fundit campaign running for a beautiful film in production, for which a new score will be composed. Check out some of the footage and music here: The Wake

January 2014
Response to the 40-Part Motet

New choral work Speranza composed with students of Borris Vocational School in response to Janet Cardiff’s 40-Part Motet, installation based on Tallis Spem in Alium, with Music Generation Carlow

January 2014
Finding Music – documentary on music and inspiration made for RTÉ lyric fm

Listen back to radio programme recently broadcast on lyric fm, a personal account of the composing life - The Lyric Feature 

October 2013
Fall Approaches for string orchestra performed at Union Chapel London

Ruthless Jabiru, London’s all-Australian chamber orchestra perform Fall Approaches 

October 2013
The Turn with Colin Dunne – performances at Fall For Dance Festival New York

New work The Turn composed for the Irish Chamber Orchestra and dancer Colin Dunne features at Fall For Dance Festival at New York City Center  in a version specially arranged for string quartet